Convert multiple mbox files into a maildir

I downloaded the complete org-mode archives and they are available as mbox files. But I wanted to have t=hem in my local dovecot installation which uses maildir, so I had to convert them.

Long search and short story:

  1. I downloaded a script is from https://github.com/igor47/mailtools/blob/master/mbox2maildir.py and named it conv.pl
  2. I run it together with find to iterate through all mbox files

mkdir ./Maildir find . -name “MATCHINGTHEMBOXFILES” -exec ./conv.pl {} ./Maildir/ \;

  1. The files are created in ./Maildir/new.

I then moved them to my maildir used by dovecot

mv ./Maildir/new ~/Maildir/TARGETFOLDER/new

When opening my mail program, they are displayed in the email program as new mails.

Easy (finally).

Cheers and enjoy life,

Rainer

Leave a Reply

