An intro

Well – everybody has to start sometime, and I will now.

But first some questions which might be asked about this blog:

  • About what: I’ll see – but likely about
    • R – the programming language for stats, but also for simulations, as it can interface easily with C/C++, Fortran, Java, …
    • GIS in the widest sense – I use GRASS and QGIS and GDAL and will possibly have something to say about those
    • org-mode ESS and emacsthe best and for me by now only way to write R code
    • Science – as I am a scientist, this is obvious. It will include spatial statistics, alien species, management, general scientific topics, …
    • Open source software – I use Linux (Ubuntu) and am of the opinion that whenever possible, open source software should be used, particularly  in research
  • Will I blog regular?
    • We’ll see, but I don’t think so. Blogging for the sense of blogging is useless. Also: I am lazy.
  • Who am I?
    • We’ll – let’s leave it at that: I am a scientist, who is blogging about the things I mentioned above.
    • Is more info relevant? I will reveal more possibly in later blogs.

So – let’s get started with my first blog about something relevant.

2 responses to “An intro

  1. Hi Rainer

    Why ESS and Emacs? I will probably start using GRASS again (and R, if I can figure out how to do resampling stats and import my data) in the near future.

    • This asks for a blog. But the short version:
      There is, as far as I know, only one real alternative to emacs + ESS, which is eclipse with statet (http://www.walware.de/goto/statet), which is the R plugin for eclipse. I tried it, and dis not like it. Sounds weired for somebody using emacs, but I did not understand eclipse, and it was quite heavy on ressources compared to emacs.
      I think there is also a good R plugin, but I never understood vim…
      In addition: there is org-mode. I thought about trying eclipse+statet again, but then I thought – but I can’t do all the things I can do in org-mode…

      I really think the combination emacs + ess + org-mode for R and GRASS (and bash / sh) is absolut perfect – I am using it right now for this.

      Cheers and tremind me if I don’t blog about R + GRASS in emacs + ess + org-mode

Leave a Reply

